Monstrous good movie

Enough of the superheroes for now. It’s time for something new on this blog: animation. Which I’m usually not that into, but there are some classics from my childhood that have conquered a space in my heart. One off those all-time favorites is ‘Monsters Inc’. It’s probably an understatement if I say I’ve watched this film a hundred times as a kid. Not long ago I saw ‘Monster’s University’ and so I couldn’t help myself but have another look at this golden oldie. It’s been at least 10 years since I saw it last, so I do look at it differently now. And I have to admit it’s not as magical as it used to be, but it is still a damn good movie.

Even though as a kid a could also appreciate your typical Walt Disney-fairytales. I was always a bigger fan of Pixar. – Which was actually  bought by Disney in 2006. – I preferred the CGI-style. But also their plots seemed kind of more complex. I don’t mean to brag, but I was quite a clever kid. So it was really nice to watch a movie and notice that there were difference layers in its story and humor. I always felt so proud if I understood a joke that was probably meant for the parents watching. And just like in the Marvel-series, watching a Pixar-pic was kind of like playing ‘I spy’. They also always had subtle links to previous films mostly  in the shape of some toy in the background.

‘Monsters Inc.’ is actually a great example of why Pixar is so successful with no less than 16 Academy Awards. – Monsters Inc. was nominated, but didn’t win by the way. – Besides from including everything I mentioned above, it is so good at creating this monster world where they adjust absolutely everything to match the idea. But at the same time they keep it so humane and recognizable, so that it’s easy for kids to understand.

Those of you who’ve read a few of my reviews, know that the plot is very important to me. And I don’t know if it’s because it’s a children movie in which fantasy and possibilities have no limits or if Pixar’s screenwriters are just so good. – Probably a mix of both, knowing how many awards they’ve won. – But this script is just another fine example of what great creative minds can produce. My favorite part? As a kid it was the moment they try to get away from Randall in the huge space where they stock the doors. Now however it’s the scene where they take Boo to the apartment and at the time still believe she’s toxic.

Let me know what your childhood favorite was and feel free to make request for reviews.

See you tomorrow!

Rating: 8/10

IMDB: 8,1/10

Previous: Iron Man 3

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

