Why so negative?

I’ve had such a busy weekend and you know, after a weekend like that there’s only one thing you can do really, to relax. And that is to have you some Colin Firth, haha, and of course some Bridget too. I feel like it’s time for the next in the series: ‘Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason’. I’ve seen a lot of bad responses to this movie and I think I understand where they come from. But I also feel like these few negative aspects blur people’s view to see why it’s actually still a nice pic. Of course, we still need to keep in mind that this is one of the few series over which I allow myself to fangirl. But I’ll try to keep it honest.

I think mostly the reason why viewers don’t like it that much, is because the storyline feels kind of cheap. I don’t know why exactly, but to me a sequel always looses some value when it’s taken entirely out of its usual environment. And you know, we just have too many bad movies with horrible plots on ski-trips or tropical holidays. I think that having this film now taking the path of such kind of story, makes the viewers feel like it took a turn for the worst. Does this choice have something to do with the fact that it’s no longer directed by Sharon Maguire? No idee. Anyway, I think people shouldn’t underestimate the fact that this is still Bridget Jones and character-wise she won’t let you down. Although in this film more than in the previous, the humor is sometimes a little too explicit. At times it’s just too obvious when a joke is being planted. But even then I feel like it’s still pretty funny.

There’s 3 main reasons why I feel like this pic shouldn’t be put off too soon. One is that the characters are still elaborated in a great way. I mean they are, especially Daniel Cleaver, kind of stereotypical, but there’s just something about them that makes this unique. Let’s just call it the ‘Bridget Jones’-factor.

And then theirs the storyline when it comes to Bridget and Mark’s relationship. The situation in which it depicts might seem a little cheap, but the way it all unfolds is just great to me. It’s not like in a lot of sequels where a couple doesn’t seem to love each other anymore, grow apart and then later realize they do love each other. No, here the love just fills the room all over. I mean the scene where Mark shows up at the door… MY GOD! They do very well know they love each other, but it’s just like Bridget says at some point: they suffer from incompatibility. This usually makes for the most romantic movies if you ask me. You can always tell by the fighting of a couple when they’re actually madly in love.

This brings me to the third reason why, despite the bad reviews and the – in this case – stupid tomato meter, ‘The Edge of Reason’ is really not that bad. It’s still pretty damn relatable. Of course the situations aren’t. Going to Thailand is nowhere near my budget. But the feelings still are. How many times haven’t I thought: ‘Just my luck to get in this shitty situation’ or ‘What the hell have I just done?’. Also I’m still pretty much totally immersed by this film, so it can’t be that bad, can it? I mean, I actually feel frustrated by Bridget following her friends’ bad advise or miscomprehension’s happening throughout the story. Of course it’s funny at the same time. What I’m trying to say, I guess, is that even though some of the situations might seem a little ludicrous. The feelings and characters are still credible enough for the viewer to root for this couple and have a pleasant movie-experience. – And if not, than just call ‘the dating war command’ and have me arrested for being a hopeless romantic.

One small thing I feel like mentioning, is how satisfying it is to catch the little winks that are being made towards ‘Bridget Jones’s Diary’. From the opening scene and Aretha Franklin to the rewinding of Bridget’s ‘moon landing’ ;), it brings an extra touch to the pic.

Anyway, of course this is gonna be a good rating. But please, let me know in the comments: am I wrong by not knocking this film to the ground?

Rating: 8/10

IMDB: 5,9/10

Previous: Hans Zimmer Revealed: The Documentary          Next: Larry Crowne

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

