No brains needed

It’s been a very busy time for me lately. So yesterday night I decided I’d just relax and spent some time at home watching television. But of course there was nothing interesting to watch. So I looked at the stuff my family recorded. I didn’t know they were that into christmas-movies… Anyway I was happy to also find something that had nothing at all to do with the holidays. I watched ‘This means war’. It’s perfect for an evening with my intentions, namely to lay back and keep my brain on standby-mode. It was enjoyable, but I wouldn’t have paid money to go and see it in a cinema.

I must say the plot is creative. I liked the concept of 2 best friends going over the top to win over the same girl by using the benefits of their job as federal agents. It’s ridiculously incredible, but at least you know that from the start. The way the character of Tuck and especially FDR is established in the very first scene, already prepares you for the kind of movie this is going to be. It has a solid storyline and as I’ve said before, that’s one of the most important must-haves for a successful pic. But unfortunately it’s not the only element that matters. And even though this is not a bad film at all, it does miss some things to make it great.

The problem is not the casting. Reese Whiterspoon, Tom Hardy, Chris Pine, they’re all perfect for these roles. I’m just wondering whether maybe it’s the characters they were casted for who hold back the potential of the movie. I feel like they might be just a bit too stereotypical, which sometimes makes the entire thing kind of boring. It’s not like there are things happening with these people who make you think: “Oh wow, I didn’t expect that at all for this character, nice!”. It’s just all kind of obvious. And all of this also results in dull romance if you ask me. I never really felt like there was an actually sincere romantic moment. Except maybe the scene in which FDR visits Lauren at work and blackmails her into having a date.

But like I said, since it was my plan to watch a no-brainer, this was perfect. And it’s starring Tom Hardy, what more do you want? Who would you have picked? Let me know in the comments. Also feel free to put in requests for reviews or just to correct my spelling. See ya!

schermafbeelding-2017-01-30-om-13-51-12
Rating: 6,5/10

IMDB: 6,3/10

Previous: Hope Springs

Next: Full metal jacket

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

